Fifteen Minutes and Finding Peace

For fifteen minutes each day, I allow myself to do what I hate to do most: I waste time.

For fifteen minutes, I stay in my room with the door shut, kneel down, and stare at the wall in front of me. I do nothing.

(Oh, so this is how she finds inspiration for these posts…from a wall….it’s obvious )cover for blog.jpg 2

For fifteen minutes each day, I allow myself to do what I hate to do most: I waste time.

For fifteen minutes, I stay in my room with the door shut, kneel down, and stare at the wall in front of me. I do nothing.

(Oh, so this is how she finds inspiration for these posts…from a wall….it’s obvious )

No, I don’t find inspiration; I find peace.

I don’t mean to tell you that I get up, after fifteen minutes, with a warm and luminous feeling in my heart and the next decade of my life planned out to the second. My wall is not so kind. But I do get up with a warm and luminous resolve that I can overcome whatever trials life brings for me each second.

Often, I get up without knowing what I am making for dinner, how I am going to pay that irksome loan, or whether my asleep foot will support me to the door. But it doesn’t matter-

(Dinner doesn’t matter!?-)

Point conceded, it is important. But you are more important. You are in charge. It seems that every moment of our lives is devoted to some smaller thing-we spend an hour on the meal prep, forty minutes on studying, but is meal prep our end-goal? Is studying the goal?

What is your goal?

Yes, my friend, this is where the white wall comes into play. My fifteen minutes in front of the wall on my knees (knees since I am a Catholic) are fifteen minutes for me to realize my goal for the day and eventually for my life. Why do I prepare meals? Why do I study? Why do I listen to Justin Beiber ?

(Why do you?)

But, seriously, realize that for most of the day you are a slave to the menial task you perform at the present moment  and you must escape from the orbit of dishes, work, or school, in order to stand upon the sun and see the big picture.

One thousand four hundred and twenty five minutes are devoted to things; fifteen minutes to why you do them.

Don’t live a pointless life. Try it. You don’t have fifteen minutes? What about those fifteen minutes you spend on Facebook? Or the fifteen minutes spent curling your hair?

This could change your life. It changed mine. Why not do it?

Why not begin to lead a life with a purpose and to live with a goal.


 

Don’ t forget to tell us your thoughts in the comments?

Read this article on how I keep happy: How to Become Happy…or at least Undepressed

Begin a Discussion

 

Leave a Reply

